Write a review Sign In

DriveTime

AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

If you had an experience with this company please share with it by adding a review
Start page > AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS > DriveTime
Add Review

DriveTime Reviews (1296)

Satisfaction rating: 
User choclate time 12.10.2017

I got a 2015 Chevy Sonic from Drivetime in Waukegan Ill on Friday Oct 6 2017. They absolutely did not do an inspection on the car. When I went to pick up the car the salesman had me drive it before I left. While on the drive I kept hearing a loud clicking type noise when the car slowed down. I asked the salesman about the noise and he said it was coming from the license plate that he attached to the car for the drive. They next day while driving I heard the noise again. So I called the ONLY in network repair service that their crappy silver rock warranty offered in my area Monro Muffler. Yep they only provide one. I took the car to the scheduled appt on Monday. They called me and told me what they thought the problem was which they said the couldn't fix. Now why would silver joke provide a repair shop that can't repair cars? Anyway they told me I need to go elsewhere. So I took it to a Chevy dealership and they found that it was in fact not what Monro told me the problem was. It turned out Monro had misdiagnosed the issue. The next day I called Monro and asked they about the misdiagnosis and the explanation I got was that they had all new mechanics who were not fully trained. Wow! So basically the siver rock warranty that drivetime offers is a joke. It was basically like pulling teeth to get the repairs approved for the dealership. Mind you this should have been addressed before drivetime made the sale.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164148 time 14.12.2016

We did enter into a contract with DT that part I will agree with.  We have had so many issues with this vehicle that DriveTime did finally step in and get the car repairs fixed for us after 3 months of going back and forth with them as to who was going to be responsible for the repairs. During this time I spoke with Justin from client relations numerous times.  In July when they picked up our vehicle and we were told an estimate of the repairs that were going to be upwards of 3 to 4K we decided to have our automatic payment dropped from our account.During this time we opened a BBB complaint.  We paid the amount of $361 to bring the account current.  I was told on the phone that day that our next payment was due on 10/17.  Immediately we start getting between 5 to 10 phone calls a day regarding this payment hence the cease & desist. Please pull the phone recordings.  I paid our next payment on the 19th & have been paying extra every time to ensure that we could get this payment cleared up.  Before the repair we had stellar credit with DT  We paid $180 every two weeks for2 years.  During the 3 mo period that we did not have a car we did not have a rental.  We stressed. If you look through our records you can see that we have had the car approx 2.5 years within that period of time our van has been in the shop for 5+ months.  We have paid and continue to pay for a car that we have only had in our possession 80%.At time of repossession on Oct 3 we were only 25 days past due.  The last payment that DT received from us was on the Feb 7.  If someone had just taken the time to look at our acct they would have seen all the notes & problems with the vehicle & our history. Van should never have been repossessed to begin with.I want the 325 credited  I think that is fair considering how many payments we have made on the vehicle while in a garage and because credit was inaccurately reported.  The cease & Desist should also be lifted. I have filled out & sent back the form.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164224 time 13.12.2016

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.
Regards,
******* *****   Iwould also like an explanation  as to why it took almost 2 months and a complaint to the BBB to get this done. Also it took so long to get this done I had a blance of 36.21 that I had to pay before Capital One would close the account, so the 25.00 credit doesn't  mean much to me.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164144 time 13.12.2016

I did receive a call from Carlos at Drivetime regarding my complaint to the BBB. He informed me that the person that deleted the 30 day late mark did so by mistake so they then put it back on. He informed me that it was against the law to remove a 30 day late from your credit report (If so the person that did it before broke the law) I know this to be untrue, I am asking for a good will adjustment to my credit report. It is not fair to my wife and I that we paid all this money for the car and worked so hard building our credit up just to have this one 30 day late mark on our credit ruin 5 years of hard work. I do not want this on my credit report for the next 7 years. You can plainly see that I did in fact trade the Altima in and that I was in constant contact with both DT and the other dealership until the payoff was received. I am being punished for the dealership taking so long to pay off my car and that is extremely unfair. To make it worse I dealt with this exact issue in the past to the point of calling the corporate office to have it removed to which they agreed and removed it now they say "Sorry it was a mistake" Mistake or not it was deleted and should have been left deleted. Even if I have to call everyday until I speak to the CEO of the company I will not rest until this negative mark is removed. I am asking that DT puts themselves in my shoes. Work hard for 5 years to better your credit score paying 20% interest and $27,000 on a 2008 car plus working hard to make sure that all other bills are paid on time so that you can better your credit for a better future for yourself and your family, When you finally get to where you want to be it is all ruined because of 1 simple late payment that was 100% beyond your control. How would that make you feel? I truly appreciate DT for trusting me and giving me the opportunity to purchase a car when no other dealers would, I just ask that they now do the right thing.


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164162 time 12.12.2016

I would like to know how BBB was able to ckose out this case without consulting me first. My car is back in the shop for the kast two days. Drive Time states the go through their cars thoroughly? Then why did they sell me a car for 20,000 with brakes that are 90% work and the routers warped. Also, a vaulve all the was gone with an active check engine light. This is second time I've been carless and having to depend on others to get to work. I need this company to honor their advertising and have this comany go through and fix this car thourouly. Thank you.** ****** *****


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164200 time 12.12.2016

At this time, I we have to decline the offer $25 toward my principle balance as a resolution to the complain. I have attach...

a copy of the invoices that I have submitted to Drivetime. It did take me some time to collect the invoices with actual dollar amount I paid out of pocket. I would serious asks Drivetime to review the invoice that I submitted.
The amount they are suggesting for compensation on the issues does not match the money, frustration, are time lost we have experience since we brought the van.
thanks you,
****** *************


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164216 time 12.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.
In addition, I would like DriveTime to understand that no communication was established because we felt that BBB was competent enough to relay our concerns and work on our behalf to get this issue resolved. 
Regards,
***** ********


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164242 time 11.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I’m writing this letter in-reference to re-opening a prior complaint due to the problem not being resolved as Drive Time stated, Drive Time reached out to me after the BBB complaint. Drive Time instructed me to take the 2010 Chrysler 300 to ******* ******** **** ***** and they would pay the diagnosis fee.  I complied, on 10/9/2014 the vehicle was diagnosed what was found, Oil leak, the oil had not been changed since 1/13/2013 printed on the filter.  I purchased vehicle on 5/10/2014. Both torsion strut bushings split, sway bar bushings bad. Sway bar links bad and left front outer tie rod bad also 4 wheel alignments. Cost $1031.00, Drive Time did not agree to have repairs done there.  Drive Time instructed me to take the vehicle to another of their in-shops, *** **** *** ****, and provide them the diagnosis from *******.  On 10/16/2014 I took vehicle in and provided list of repairs by *******, vehicle out on 10/17/2014, upon pickup the mechanic stated the vehicle was still making noise but this was due to all Chrysler’s making noise.  I took the vehicle to **** **** to learn that the wrong oil was put into the vehicle, by *** **** *** ****, this is specified on oil cap, and also by their list of completion they only put 2 quarts of all in vehicle. 
The vehicle was loud and still making the same noise, I took the vehicle back to Chrysler to ask for another diagnosis paid by me, their response another one not needed. Due to the first thing on the list of repairs done by *** **** *** **** was not performed; also Chrysler’s stated the statement that all Chrysler’s making noise isn’t a true statement. I contacted Drive Time again with update; also the vehicle started having problems with starting and needed a jump to perform. I had the batter checked and put on diagnosis machine at local advance shop was told battery was good but needed charging, I had battery fully charged results full charge on battery.  Car still will not perform without being jumped but once turned off will not start. Drive Time instructed me they did not want to send the vehicle to the same in-shop **** **** *** **** they instructed me to take it to another in-shop which was ******* ************, I complied on 11/3/14, I had vehicle towed to ******* ************, I received a telephone call from ******* that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle but that it needed a new battery. ******* had also called this in to Averex warranty. Upon picking the vehicle up ******* mechanic road in vehicle with my son and I, the mechanic observed noise inside vehicle also outside. The vehicle taken back into shop repairs found and needed, both front struts upper control arms, install right upper control arm install left upper control arm and alignment needed. ******* ************ called in claim $1,500.00 plus it was denied, Drive Time Customer Relations staff ******* **** stated to me that they would close out the old loan acting as if it did not happen. ******* stated they would switch me into a new vehicle of choice, but same class and price, and that the down payment amount which was the balance left on the 2006 Commander would transfer. But would not transfer any payments made on 2010 Commander, or reimburse any diagnosis fees paid by me. Also I would need to make my past due payment of $254.25. I agreed and made payment on 11/12/14, on 11/12/14 terms changed, ******* stated in order to transfer me into a new vehicle I would have to comply with a new application, credit check and approval. Or if I want to walk away they would provide me a $500.00 check, she explained they did not obtain the balanced left on the 2006 Commander once sold in the auction and took a loss. 
Follow up: On 11/19/14 I spoke with ********* customer relations (supervisor) she agreed with the terms being offered and explained that they received $20.00 more from the trade in amount of 4,000.00 plus from the sell of the 2006 commander. ********* stated the $500.00 was a courtesy to me only. There have been many inconsistencies, and dishonest statements and practices by Drive Time, at this time I’m willing to walk away as Drive Time state I’m allowed to do at this point, but feel that $500.00 for my trade in that was in good condition, well kept and no- body damage is unseasonal and would not be feasible for me. I would be willing to accept 1,200.00 to walk away as they previously stated that I’m allowed to do. I would appreciate your attention to this matter.
 
Regards,***** *****


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164134 time 10.12.2016

October 3, 2016

"Times New Roman",serif;"> 
Better Business Bureau
Ph. ###-###-####
Fax ###-###-####
 
Re: Complaint #********
 
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to address our customer’s concerns.
 
On March 15, 2016, our customer entered into a Simple Interest Retail Installment Contract when he purchased a 2009 Nissan Quest from DriveTime. Attached you will find a copy of the Contract for your review. The Contract was subsequently assigned to DT Acceptance Corporation, now known as Bridgecrest Acceptance Corporation. 
 
All DriveTime vehicles are thoroughly inspected prior to sale at our DriveTime inspection centers. Our inspection did not indicate any issues with the odometer, nor did the Experian Autocheck Report presented to our customer at the time of sale. Attached you will find the Experian Autocheck Report for your review. We have also attached a current Experian Autocheck Report, which also lists no discrepancies with the odometer or reported mileage.
 
This complaint is our first indication that our customer has had this concern. On April 4, 2016, our customer contacted Aeverex, our warranty administrator, to report a light on his dashboard, and a wobble when braking. Aeverex referred our customer to an in-network repair facility, but no claim was ever filed.
 
FULL RESPONSE ATTACHED


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164160 time 10.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10836648, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.I did not pay 950.00.. I was told that i had to pay 994.00 to drive off with the vehicle.. Then the fact that they are trying to make it seem as if they were trying to be so helpful to me also is untrue.. When i called them myself to report all these problems, they didnt want to assist me.. But as soon as i reported them to the BBB, now all of a sudden they are so concerned about the issue.. And im sorry but a 25.00 gift card is not gonna make this problem go away.. I didn't even get to the two month mark with owning the vehicle due to it completely breaking down.. And i feel that i was duped into taking a lemon for a car off their lot.. A car that they didnt inspect or do anything to prior to selling it to me.. I worked too hard for my money to be wrongfully taken by a money hungry corporation.. Whatever major mechanical issues that car has, has been with that car prior to being sold, and im more than certain they were aware of it all, and still chose to sell it after the fact..i plan to go to the local news station here and report it as well.. I cannot take this sitting down, and i will not roll over for a bully of a corporation.. Right is right, and wrong is wrong.. The right thing to do is to return my down payment of 994.00.. [Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
Regards,
****** ****** ****


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164174 time 09.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
On 6/24/2014 I had notified the BBB about the awful service provided to me from drive time. On June 25th 2014 I got a call from the Retention department, and I explained to them my situation. At the end of the phone call, only one of my offers were agreed on due to the fact of them stating I can not change my payments to monthly, to where it is biweekly right now which is very INCONVENIENT for me. So the retention department agreed that they would allow me to get my oil change. I went to the sears on June 28th 2014 to get my oil change. The lady said that they had not received any notification from DriveTime that I can get my oil change at the current mileage I was at, and that I was not eligible for a oil change yet. We tried calling customer service, but they were close. So the lady that agreed to let me get my oil change, I had called and left her 2 voicemails. Still have not heard back from her. To this point, I am not very happy with DriveTime. The car that I bought from them is very poor, only bought the car because of work and school and needed something fast. I would never recommend anyone to DriveTime. Also I work for LA Times and I will make sure I make a story in the paper about DriveTime and why not choose to get a car from them.
Here is my desired outcome. I want to exchange my car for something different. And I want monthly car payments less than $350 a month. And I dont want to have to pay the $500 deductable for changing cars. Or if that need can't be met, I want my car payments to be monthly, and to lower my car payments to $300 a month. If this need cant be met. There is no other outcome I would desire, but since our agreement was not met about my oil change, and after you lied to BBB stating that my needs were met, I will have no choice but to file a law sue against DriveTime for breaking a agreement that was made. DriveTime it's your choice. And by the way, since my needs were not met, my payment has not been made yet either. So if you shut my car off for no payment, I will even add that to my documents for a law sue against you. Copies of both complaints are on record with my attorney also. And she also will be contacting DriveTime within 3 business days.
Regards,
***** **********


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164220 time 09.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.On April 13th, 2015, I did sign a contract, however, a verbal agreement was also made (which was a part of the contract recording that took place) where I had inquired about paying on the 2nd and 17th of each month due to my pay schedule.  Had they have declined to let that happen, I would not have purchased the vehicle.  That recording took place for a reason."Our customer set up his automatic draft payments to be pulled from his account on the 2nd and 17th of each month, beginning on May 2, 2015."  You're Right!  I did!  And was given such a run around and hassle over this for the last month!  The first time it happened, I didn't have to call anybody several times or email several people.  It was handled after the first initial email.  "On July 19, 2015, our customer logged onto MyDriveTime.com and resubmitted his automatic draft payments to be pulled out of a different bank account number. When our customer re-enrolled with a different bank account number, he also set up the automatic draft payments to be pulled on the 1st and 16th of each month."  FALSE!  Please prove where I had the OPTION to pick those dates.  I don't think I would have set that up on my own to have to grow through all of this!  If I chose the dates myself, if would have been for the 2nd and 17th as stated in the recording that took place when I purchased the vehicle, and as my payment history proves.  Why would I chose the 1st and the 16th if I knew I couldn't make the payments on those dates?  I certainly don't enjoy paying those overdraft fees on purpose.  When I re-enrolled under my savings account, those dates reverted back to the 1st and 16th on their own.  If there is proof that I CHOSE those dates on my own doing, I'd love to see it. "On July 29, 2015, our customer contacted us to set up his automatic draft payments to be pulled on the 2nd and 17th of each month. We informed our customer the customer service department was experiencing high call volume and encouraged our customer to call back the next day to receive assistance in a timelier manner. At this time, our customer has not attempted to contact DriveTime."  I was never informed to call back the next day.  Why would you tell somebody to call back tomorrow if it was something they needed to get fixed right away?  I was told to call back in another hour.  I only get 2 breaks at work per day as well as a lunch period.  I called during my lunch period and waited for nearly 10 minutes, then was told by the rep that answered that he could not help me, the call volume was high, and to call back in an hour.  I CALLED BACK!  Only to get put through to another representative that claimed they could not help me.  By the time I get off of work, your customer service center is already closed.  It's ashame your systems can't log how many times I actually did call back and how long I was on hold each time.  So as far as saying I never ATTEMPTED to contact you, that's a load of crap.  You all never attempted to contact me either until I filed a complaint with the BBB.  I spent numerous days and a lot of time trying to contact somebody to have one tiny issue fixed with the dates that was originally set up for me to pay my bill. "On August 13, 2015, we spoke to our customer and informed him he has an upcoming payment due on August 16, 2015. We offered to cancel his automatic draft payments, so we may reenroll with his new account and his preferred dates. Our customer informed us he would contact us back after his next payment drafts to set up the correct dates."  This is correct!  You all were very quick to inform me that I have an upcoming payment due.  I spoke with a representative that stated it would take a few days (confusing as to why that takes that long), for the dates to change on my account.  So we agreed that I would let the payment on the 16th go through, and that I would call back on the 17th to change the dates to the way they were (SIMPLE!!).  I did call back today, and the change was made.  "At this time, we are unable to accommodate our customer’s request to credit his account one month’s payments. As a goodwill gesture, DriveTime has applied a $25 to our customer’s principal balance."  I appreciate the good faith gesture, however, that still doesn't erase the fact that I've been trying to get this settled for well over a month now.  Numerous breaks and lunch hours were wasted trying to get this settled.  I'm still quite upset about all of this, and it should have never gotten this far.  My email address is attached to my DriveTime account.  If I sent a couple emails asking for a simple change, it's obviously coming from me.  I could understand if I was asking you to change my banking account numbers or something, but a date???  You have access to my payment history.  I'm just not understanding why it took all of this work just to correct one thing.  When I first bought this car, DriveTime was customer service oriented, and it seems like the longer I've had my car, the more I realize this is not the case anymore.  I've never been late, I've never complained about anything else, all I wanted was my pay dates to be fixed so there would be no overdraft fees for anybody.  It's better to make sure the money is available than to not have money to cover it.  And out of the 3-4 people I spoke with on this matter, one person should have been able to help me sooner.  I do not want to face this again in the future, as this has been a nightmare for me.  I will not purchase another vehicle from DriveTime.  I will purchase my next vehicle from the company that stands by their word when it comes to customer satisfaction and customer service.  This experience alone has been one of the main reasons I refuse to refer anybody to them.
Regards,
******* *****


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164226 time 08.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I don't accept this offer because Drivetime is still not addressing the issues or concerns that I have made regarding my payments, the statements that reps did't tell me about my change in payment history, failure to issue me a new payment schedule, explanation of how where money was applied or the difference amounts and how they were obtained. Drivetime won't accept responsibility for the faults that their reps as well as management have failed to address regarding my complaints or concerns about this account that has been ongoing since March 2015.In the response to my original complaint the Drivetime rep intentionally mislead BBB with incorrect information regarding how much I had made towards my May 2015 when in fact I had made more than what was stated but paid what the rep stated I needed to pay. I was under the impression in January of 2015 that I was ahead in my payments when the rep told me that my payment was only 180 dollars and had never stated that I had a third payment in August. As in my previous statements to the BBB I was never told about these missed payments and if they listen to all the phone calls they would find this out to be true. According to Drivetime none of the calls are available which seems convenient for Drivetime but unfair to as a customer. There are numerous phone calls and notes that should be availabe regarding the numerous calls and concerns that I have regarding this issue. If my payment is 203.82  and they say I missed a payment how does it become 179.74? If I missed an additional payment of 203.82 and I owe another payment that would equal 407.64 but instead they have two payments that total 383.56 which leads to more confusion because they say I owe 531.66 which adds to the confusion considering the fact that I have not missed any payments but August and January payment. The rep keeps stating the 5.00 fee but fails to state the fact I wasn't made aware of this until Oct 2014 and this seems to be a trend of untruths that the reps of Drivetime have been doing. If I would have been made aware of these missed payment I could have paid more towards the balance and not have been in the current situation that Drivetime states and that I disagree. Any person would assume that they are ahead in payments if they are told they owe less than what their payment is and have never been told about they missed a payment and continue to make the regular payment and not the amount quoted to them. This not only affects me but my husband as well and if Drivetime can find the phone calls they will see that I have stated since March that I would like this matter cleared up because I don't want it to affect our credit and that is why I have asked to speak to supervisor after supervisor for an explanation and to address my concerns and issues. Why does Drivetime keep answering with the same answer which is I signed a contract instead of addressing my concerns and issues? Why won't they do the honrable thing and do a thourough investigation and realize there were mistakes made and do the honorable thing and come to a fair and just resolution. If there was a change in the amount of payments per months I should have been told this or recieved something in writing showing me an updated payment change. If there was a missed payment I should have been made aware of this before March of 2014. After I started inquiring about how money was applied and how did they get to certain amounts then they said it was an August payment and it made no sense to me because I was told I only owe 180 in January which at that point I thought  I was ahead in my payments. Drivetime needs to address my issues and concerns with this complaint but my original complaint as well. If I honestly did something wrong I would say hold me accountable but since I did nothing wrong Drivetime needs to do the honorable thing and come to a fair an honrable thing and not let this affect my credit. If I would have been told about the missed payment in August I could have made it. Then there is another payment in January and I was still not made aware of this payment and still had not recieved an updated payment schedule to make me aware that I had three payment but was told I owed 180. My resolution is for Drivetime to do what's right even if they won't admit fault and to not let this affect me or my husband credit because had I been told and did not make the payments then I would have to accept the negative impact but since I wasn't made aware and have disputed and asked for questions and explanations and have yet to recieve them it is not only unfair but not honorable or right. The Drivetime rep is not stating the whole truth but giving robotic answers and answers that only tell a one sided story to make them look correct and just. I am not looking for a handout but a fair and just conclusion. If there was a problem with my account when I inqured about a due date change and the rep stated I wasn't elgible for one and my account didn't qualify for anything I would have been told about a deferment. It seems strange and dishonest that after I stated I was filing for a complaint with the BBB that all of a sudden I could get a deferment but yet I couldn't get answers to my questions about my account. They want me to accept a deferment as a way for me to admit fault but I'm not at fault but rather Drivetime is and needs to accept responsibility and do what's right in this situation. I'm not looking for a handout but rather a fair and just resolution. My resolution is for this not to impact my credit because I did everything which I thought was correct in regards to my payments.
Regards,
****** ******


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164138 time 08.12.2016

November 2, 2016
 
Better Business Bureau
Ph. ###-###-####
Fax ###-###-#### 
 
Re: Complaint # ********
    
To Whom It May Concern:
 
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to re-address our customer’s concerns.
 
On October 7, 2016, DriveTime contacted our customer in an attempt to address his concerns. We advised him that we found no indication that the odometer in the vehicle had been modified in any way, nor was this concern ever brought to our attention. We encouraged our customer to submit documentation in reference to his concerns with the odometer for DriveTime review.
 
Currently, no documentation has been obtained. We encourage our customer to submit the requested documents via facsimile at ###-###-#### by November 11th, 2016, so DriveTime may review his concerns further. Without any updated information, DriveTime is still unable to refund our customer all monies paid into the loan.
 
DriveTime thanks the Better Business Bureau for their ongoing support. Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact our Customer Relations department at ###-###-####.
 
Thank you,
 
Diana C.
Customer Relations


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164196 time 08.12.2016

Dear Ms. *******,Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to address our customers’ concerns. On July 10, 2013, our customers entered into a retail installment contract when they purchased a 2008 Chevrolet Aveo with 67,410 miles. The...

vehicle came with a 3 year/36,000 mile limited warranty administered by Aeverex. The retail installment contract and the limited warranty agreement have been included for your reference.All DriveTime vehicles are thoroughly inspected prior to sale at our inspection centers. At the time of sale, DriveTime provides our customers with an Experian AutoCheck Vehicle History Report. The Experian AutoCheck Vehicle History Report may indicate a prior accident record, a rental, or government vehicle, registered in a storm area, and/or a theft record. These items will be noted in the Vehicle Information section on the Experian AutoCheck Report. Our customer signed and acknowledged the vehicle had not been in any accidents prior to purchase. I have included the document for your review. Additionally, our customers signed the “What you need to know about financing a vehicle with DriveTime” agreement. Page two, section “Title History Report” states, “You have received and reviewed your title history report. The Experian AutoCheck report is created by a private company not affiliated with DriveTime. AutoCheck gets information from government and private businesses. We give this report to you as a courtesy. Use or damage information about the vehicle not listed on the report given to you may appear on reports created by other private businesses (for example, Carfax) or on AutoCheck report obtained after you purchased the vehicle. You should research the vehicle thoroughly before purchasing and fill out the AutoCheck Buyback Protection Registration Form after purchasing.” I have included the document for your review. Our customers reviewed and signed the limited warranty agreement at the time of sale. The limited warranty agreement specifically lists what items are covered, it also list excluded components.In July and August, our customer contacted Aeverex, regarding repair issues with the vehicle. A claim from a repair facility for these issues was never filed.On September 13 and October 15, our customers contacted us stating they paid for repairs on the vehicle, which was the reason for their account becoming past due. We advised our customers to submit repair receipts for possible assistance on their account. On October 22, the vehicle was placed for repossession, the account was 59 days past due. Later that day, we received a copy of our customers repair receipts.On October 30, we contacted our customers and informed them in order to eligible for payment deferments one payment would be need to be made. This payment was required due to an insufficient payment made on August 24. Our customers informed us they would make a payment on November 1. We accepted the arrangement and informed our customers the vehicle was out for recovery due to the loan being 67 days past due. On November 22, the vehicle was located and recovered at 90 days past due. On November 23, our customers contacted us stating they sent us the repair receipts and they have honored the contract. Our customers requested we reimburse them for the total cost of repairs. We informed them they have not kept their contractual obligations, and are in default of their loan. We also advised them they did not satisfy the arrangements made on October 30, to qualify for payment deferments. We informed them they have the option to redeem the vehicle and reinstate the loan.On January 3, we spoke with our customers regarding the repairs and recovery of the vehicle. During the conversation, the phone was disconnected. At this time, we are unable to accommodate our customers request for reimbursement of money spent on repairs or lost wages. We advise our customers to submit repair receipts for review.As a goodwill gesture, DriveTime has mailed a $25.00 ******** ******* gift card.                     DriveTime thanks the Better Business Bureau for their ongoing support. Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact us by calling us at ###-###-####. Sincerely,DriveTimeCustomer Relations


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164172 time 07.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
On today: July 6, 2015, I received a Redemption and Reinstatement Form, dated: June 30, 2015. I have filed several BBB Complaints against this company: Drive Time Automobile Company where the location that I purchased my vehicle from: Temple, Texas (about 30 miles from Waco, Texas).All documents have been submitted to BBB except the mailing in question. This vehicle was picked up on: June 26, 2015 without notice. I faxed this company a letter on June 25, 2015 requesting to:(1). Remove the $495.00 amount for the GP; (2). Remove the $595.00 amount for Gap Insurance; (3).Extended Warranty adjustment has not been completely deducted from my loan from this company and(4). My loan balance is higher today than the price of the vehicle when I purchased it in January 2, 2015.(1). To be made whole; (2).To be reimbursed for an amount to be determined based on the time that it takes for this matter to be resolved.
Regards,
*** *************


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164176 time 07.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I am not satisfied with DriveTime, due to the fact that I had spoken to the payment center and gave them my new checking account number, so that my payments can be deducted automatically. Customer Service rep told me that she had taken out my old checking account that had been compromised and updated my account with my new checking account number. On July 25th, 2014 at 11:00 pm, I get in my car, thinking I'm about to drive to work. I attempt to start my car and nothing happens. I tried it again, and nothing has happened. Now this is where I am pissed off. Not only am I missing work, but the department that handles the payments are not open on saturday, so I am without a car until monday, meaning Im missing 3 days of work. Now why am I pissed out, DriveTime did not notify me that my payment has not been received, the last time I was late for my payment, there was a noise that would come on when I start my car, that noise did not come on this time warning me that my payment has not be received. For a customer who is PAYING for something that doesnt belong to me, that is down right not acceptable. Sending me a $50 prepaid card, really is not going to fix this problem. My oil change was not completed like agreed on, because of DriveTime non communication with sears, and the lack of customer service they provide. Lets see, the first week I had the car, it kept shutting off on me while driving down the street, so i had to take it to the shop. Secondly DriveTime Torrance employees are very rude and lack knowledge of knowing that they had a department that handle lease warranties. Third my car begin to knock, I take it to a shop to have it looked at, they tell me I needed a oil change. DriveTime Retention department PROMISED that I could get my oil changed and that they would leave notes. That never happened. I called and left voicemails with the drivetime retention lady that claimed to solved my problem, NEVER got a phone call back from her, until i made another complaint with the BBB. So for all these problems, you really think $50 is going to make me happy. NO.... Now I warned drivetime, if my car was to get shut off, during this occasion of my dispute. I was going to contact my attorney ****** *****, and file a law sue against DriveTime, for breaking a agreement that was made to me, and was not accomplished. If I do take DriveTime to court, I will sue for $300,000 and DriveTime will be responsible for court fees and lawyer fees. Now my attorney can be reached at ************ (mobile). Now to eliminate the law sue, this is my proposed action. I want my car payments to be monthly, I always want my car payment to be lowered. And I also want FREE Lifetime oil change, as long as I am under this contract, and I also want one of my car payments removed. Now remember DriveTime, You had a agreement that I was eligible for early oil change, but due to your lack of communication that didn't happen, and also your company sold me a car that was not operating correctly, and remember your agreement you made with me is on document. Now my propose action, is set in stone. I don't want no other offers. And returning the car is not a solution, I love the car, but not the issues. Now, also you might want to have someone in California stay tuned to **** ** *******, where I work because I will be talking about this issue also, and will write letters in the ** ***** ******* ********. 
 
Regards,
***** **********


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164178 time 06.12.2016

Better Busi**** Bureau:
I have reviewed the response made by the busi**** in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
The company never offered to re-contract; ***** stated that the SkyLink could be canceled, but at no refund; the other two optional items were canceled by me when DriveTime refused to allow me to return the vehicle within the warranty time frame of 5 busi**** days without penalty.  There is also no mention of the difficulties at the DriveTime location in Raleigh, the compromising of my account information which resulted in fraudulent charges on the account, requiring a police investigation and cancellation of my previous card.  The AutoPay feature that they required me to setup prior to leaving the dealership was never set up either, per *****'s admission.  I set up the AutoPay so that I would not incur any additional charges.  ***** is attempting to present as if DriveTime did nothing wrong; I am still officially requesting a full investigation into the busi**** practices of ******* ***** and ******* **** ****, as well as ***** at Corporate, for not honoring the contract that was provided to me, as they specified that they know that is what it says, but that I must do otherwise in order to get approved.  Also, the last time I talked to ***** he informed me that I must contact Aeverex myself to cancel the product; when I did, they specified that they did cancel and forwarded the paperwork to DriveTime on their May invoice, of which I never received updated paperwork.  So the customer service was lacking and unprofessional; my account was compromised and they never forwarded the information to corporate that they stated must be obtained in order to get approved; I was hassled by customer service at and before the payment due dates, even though the errors were not of my own doing; and I was treated unfairly and talked over by ***** when voicing my concerns initially; somehow he thinks that a $50 gift card is supposed to make up for the wrongs that have been committed against me.  I have done everything that was expected of me, and more, as I had to process paperwork that the dealership was to complete, per their specifications for obtaining the vehicle; upon attempting to return the vehicle, I was informed that I would pay a penalty; and then when deciding to retain the vehicle, the paperwork was not processed as it should have been; even the plastic in my vehicle that states "dealer must remove" is still present; *****'s response to that was, that it was my duty to take it off, even though it states the dealer must do so.  I have never been treated in such a manner, and have visited many dealerships both large and small, and have never incurred such treatment, never had my account information compromised, and never needed to file any complaints with the BBB until now.
Regards,
******* ********


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164166 time 05.12.2016


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
I previously purchased a vehicle and insurance from Drive Time. I had a wreck and they refused to cover me at which time I filed a BBB complaint. It was finally resolved with me agreeing to pay 1500 to drive time in order for the cancellation of the loan and it being reflected on my credit as a PAID off loan. Those were the terms of our agreement. However, once I looked at my credit report I noted that they have reported a repossession which is wholly false.
I want this bogus repossession removed from my credit report.
Regards,
****** ******


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Satisfaction rating: 
User Reviewer2164198 time 04.12.2016

January10, 2014*******
******* BetterBusiness Bureau*** *************
*** *************  Re:Complaint #******* Dear *** ********Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We appreciate the opportunity to address our customers’ concerns. On July 10, 2013, our customers entered into a retail installment contract when they purchased a 2008 Chevrolet Aveo with 67,410 miles. The vehicle came with a 3 year/36,000 mile limited warranty administered by*******. The retail installment contract and the limited warranty agreement have been included for your reference. All DriveTime vehicles are thoroughly inspected prior to sale at our inspection centers. At the time of sale, DriveTime provides our customers with an ******** ********* Vehicle History Report. The ******** ********* Vehicle History Report may indicate a prior accident record, a rental, or government vehicle, registered in a storm area, and/or a theft record. These items will be noted in the Vehicle Information section on the ******** ********* Report. Our customer signed and acknowledged the vehicle had not been in any accidents prior to purchase. I have included the document for your review. Additionally, our customers signed the “What you need to know about financing a vehicle with DriveTime” agreement. Page two, section “Title History Report” states, “You have received and reviewed your title history report. The ******** ********* report is created by a private company not affiliated with DriveTime. ********* gets information from government and private businesses. We give this report to you as a courtesy. Use or damage information about the vehicle not listed on the report given to you may appear on reports created by other private businesses (for example, Carfax) or on ********* report obtained after you purchased the vehicle. You should research the vehicle thoroughly before purchasing and fill out the ********* Buyback Protection Registration Form after purchasing.” I have included the document for your review. Our customers reviewed and signed the limited warranty agreement at the time of sale. The limited warranty agreement specifically lists what items are covered, it also list excluded components. In July and August, our customer contacted *******, regarding repair issues with the vehicle. A claim from a repair facility for these issues was never filed. On September 13 and October 15, our customers contacted us stating they paid for repairs on the vehicle, which was the reason for their account becoming past due. We advised our customers to submit repair receipts for possible assistance on their account.  On October 22, the vehicle was placed for repossession, the account was 59 days past due. Later that day, we received a copy of our customers repair receipts. On October 30, we contacted our customers and informed them in order to eligible for payment deferments one payment would be need to be made. This payment was required due to an insufficient payment made on August 24. Our customers informed us they would make a payment on November 1. We accepted the arrangement and informed our customers the vehicle was out for recovery due to the loan being 67 days past due. On November 22, the vehicle was located and recovered at 90 days past due. On November 23, our customers contacted us stating they sent us the repair receipts and they have honored the contract. Our customers requested we reimburse them for the total cost of repairs. We informed them they have not kept their contractual obligations, and are in default of their loan. We also advised them they did not satisfy the arrangements made on October 30, to qualify for payment deferments. We informed them they have the option to redeem the vehicle and reinstate the loan. On January 3, we spoke with our customers regarding the repairs and recovery of the vehicle. During the conversation, the phone was disconnected. At this time, we are unable to accommodate our customers request for reimbursement of money spent on repairs or lost wages.  We advise our customers to submit repair receipts for review. As a goodwill gesture, DriveTime has mailed a $25.00 American Express gift card.   DriveTime thanks the Better Business Bureau for their ongoing support. Should you have any questions or concerns, please contact us by calling us at 800-965-8043. Sincerely, DriveTime Customer Relations


Mark as useful (0 votes)
Reply
Check fields!

Submit Review

Satisfaction rating:

DriveTime rating

Overal satisfaction rating

Category: AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS

Address: 1720 W Rio Salado Pkwy, Tempe, AZ, 85281-6590

Website: http://www.drivetime.com/

83 people are currently seeking DriveTime contact information. If you have any available please add it here.